top of page

Desmos Art (C)

1: Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

4: Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences





I was introduced to the online graphing calculator Desmos in my 9th grade precalculus class, where we drew a ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (shrug emoji) using simple equations. From that point, I became somewhat obsessed with the idea of making art using math. Throughout the years, I've created several artworks on Desmos. My style ranges from abstract math curves that I accidentally find through experimentation, to graphs that emulate real objects like dreamcatchers or flowers.


The piece I have dedicated a significant amount of time to is my Hu Tao fanart (which is still work in progress). While creating the graph, I challenged myself to represent each stroke with the fewest curves. Sure, I could easily draw Hu Tao with 500 linear and polynomial equations, pieced together jaggedly. However, I decided to comb through online discussion threads, learn how to rotate trigonometric functions (and initially miserably fail), read about obscure polar curves, and ponder on everything learned thus far, to perfectly capture Hu Tao’s 3/4 face angle in one equation. Not only was it satisfying to get a smooth curve, but the process also taught me a lot of obscure math that I otherwise would not find in a classroom setting, so I say it was time well spent.

Most of my Desmos art is posted on my art instagram account, @loquacious_lime, though it is mixed with other digital and traditional art.



Comments


bottom of page