top of page

Hiking in Hawaii (A)

1: Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

4: Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences


In the span of 6 weeks in Hawaii, I went on several hikes. I was initially extremely anxious because (1) I've never hiked up a mountain in my entire life, and (2) after years of mild exercising I believed I was physically unprepared to do such strenuous activity. However, after going to the gym daily I eventually built up enough stamina to complete my first hike.


Makapu'u Point Lighthouse Trail: this trail was paved, so it was relatively flat and decent to walk on. I was struggling more so because of the sun shining directly overhead, with no shade or wind. I discovered that I preferred hiking quickly and reaching the top in one go, instead of taking breaks, so I hiked alone. I turned the hike into an endurance test to see how well I could tolerate the heat and concentrate on managing my stamina. In the end, the reward was satisfying; I got to enjoy the scenery, the sound of the waves, and the wind in peaceful solitude.


Pu'u Ma'eli'eli Trail: in contrast to the first trail, Pu'u Ma'eli'eli was in a forest, so there was a lot of trees and mud, which made the hike much more dangerous. Here, I no longer leisurely walk. I had to pay attention to my surroundings to make sure I didn't slip, and that others were safe. Much of the hike was spent in hyperawareness. Nonetheless, it was interesting seeing bunkers and observing Hawaiian foliage (previously, I had hiked with my PI and lab graduate students to collect native leaves so I became intrigued about that).


Diamond Head: this hike was a combination of a paved and unpaved path. Though the path was long, there were no significant obstacles, it was not as hot as the first hike, and there were many stopping points to rest and take pictures. At one point, we even went into a dark tunnel. At the top, the wind was very cool. I could see the whole crater and coastline. Diamond Head was the mildest hike, which was a good change of pace.


Koko Head: the hike up Koko Head was the culmination of weeks of training. The path was extremely long and arduous; climbing up 1000 steps was nothing like walking on a sloped road, plus the sun shone strongly. After about 600 steps, I was also fighting with my migraine, breathlessness, and leg pain. But as I went back into the endurance test mindset, I found that concentrating on hiking step by step made the journey tolerable. At the peak, I was filled with pain, but that paled in comparison to the pride and achievement I felt, knowing I persisted and finished soon after the boys (in about 35 minutes!). Koko Head made me realize that though I may not be strong or fast, my stamina and steadfast mindset are equally viable tools for reaching my goal.

Comments


bottom of page