top of page

Leading Greenhawks (S)

2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

4: Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences

5: Demonstrate the skills and recognise the benefits of working collaboratively

6: Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance


I have been a member of Greenhawks ever since the start of high school, so I know the ins and outs of the club activities. However, this year, as one of the leaders of Greenhawks, my role drastically shifted. As a club with predominantly middle school students, I had to adjust my leadership style. For one, I learned to communicate issues about the environment in a more accessible way. An instance was during the beginning of my leadership, where I began to use simpler and more concise vocabulary when I was explaining the purpose of growing plants using sustainable materials, or selling products created using environmentally-friendly means.


Additionally, I feel I developed some business sense. In trying to revive Greenhawks’ popularity after it being online during the previous year, me and the other leaders sought to integrate Greenhawks into countless school events such as the Chonburi open house, International day, and Wells Without Walls. We also connected Greenhawks with the school community through collaborations with the art teachers, or by selling t-shirts and other merchandise. In all of these cases, I learned new management skills, namely being an event planner, negotiator, salesperson, translator, etc. I never expected leading an environmental club to come with these responsibilities. Nevertheless, in my aim to educate others on environmental issues, I managed to immerse myself in these roles, and I am glad Greenhawks gave me the chance to step outside of my comfort zone.



As a member of the Greenhawks leadership team, I managed and executed multiple activities over the past semester.


Weekly activities


An important activity of Greenhawks is collecting recyclable material from classrooms, namely paper and bottles. After a year of Covid and club inactivity, the Greenhawks green boxes used for collecting materials became deteriorated or were missing. So at the start of the year, we remade the boxes.


This year, we (the leaders) decided to focus more on recycling paper and plastic bottles for the benefit of the Wells community, while still donating the rest to external facilities.


We donated a significant portion of our bottles to the art class so that they could create a sustainable Christmas tree.


We also turned some paper and bottles into period pad wrappers.


We introduced a second weekly activity: sustainable gardening. Members learned to grow various vegetables and plants using materials such as paper and plastic.


School events


During International day, Greenhawks sold handmade seashell and clam keychains and Greenhawks merch (reusable bottles, t-shirts, and metal straws) to fundraise for the club. Additionally, we hosted the Adopt a Plant program where we propagated plants to give out to teachers and students for free. The program aimed to raise awareness about the benefits of indoor plants.


During Wells Without Walls Week, we organized a booth at Onnut and Chonburi. Similar to the International Day booth, we sold handmade seashell keychains, Greenhawks merch, and plants. We also introduced handmade owl plushies and masks for sale.


Furthermore, for the Chonburi booth, Katrina and I prepared an activity for the kindergarten and primary school students. We aimed to teach students about the basic anatomy of a plant and its functions. To prepare, we did research and I created a worksheet along with flashcards.


Other activities


Members raised awareness about environmental issues on social media through the @wellsgreenhawks Instagram account. We also posted updates about club activities and participation in school events.


Lastly, Katrina and I designed and sold t-shirts to fundraise for the club.


Comments


bottom of page