top of page

Rollerskating (A)

1: Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

5: Demonstrate the skills and recognise the benefits of working collaboratively


I went rollerskating for the first time. Even after trying out ice skating last year, my sense of balance was still subpar, so I wanted to work on it. It was scary getting started, as the ground was slippery and I could not control the direction I was headed. However, my friends guided me. I found it useful that they helped me understand rollerskating using analogies. They would say something along the lines of "to keep moving, pretend you are kicking the skates outward." It helped me understand the effects of my movement better, and gave me confidence that what I was doing was correct. Though I fell multiple times and my kneecaps were in considerable pain, I practiced for the whole hour. In the end, I was able to independently move around at a slow speed, which I consider to be an improvement from the ice skating experience.



Comments


bottom of page