top of page

Wells Math Competition (C)



1: Identify own strengths and develop areas for growth

2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process

5: Demonstrate the skills and recognise the benefits of working collaboratively

6: Demonstrate engagement with issues of global significance


I participated in the Wells Math Competition. I like learning math and thought it would be a good chance to explore the subject and see what type of questions they would ask. I was also eager to put my skills to the test. The money was donated to Unicef.


In the competition, I partnered up with a classmate I've never interacted with because our classes did not line up. One benefit of the competitive environment was that it pushed me out of my comfort zone and forced me to interact with someone I had never met before. I am glad that it did, because I had a fun time working with my partner and sharing our knowledge to solve math problems. I loved getting to talk about math with other people since none of my friends liked discussing math.


Some questions were solvable but others were mostly too hard (my critical thinking didn't work when I was under time pressure). I also couldn't calculate and think quickly enough, which made me realize I should improve on it.

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page