top of page

WSC Internal Debate (C)


2: Demonstrate that challenges have been undertaken, developing new skills in the process


3: Demonstrate how to initiate and plan a CAS experience


4: Show commitment to and perseverance in CAS experiences


5: Demonstrate the skills and recognize the benefits of working collaboratively


In 2021, the World Scholar’s Cup club decided to hold an internal debate event at Wells to make up for the regional WSC round that got cancelled due to COVID-19. As a member of the club, I was involved in the planning of the event, and was a debater. It took about 5 club meetings to complete the planning.



I learned to collaborate with students who I didn’t know. For instance, in the first round, I was put in a team with a middle schooler and a high school student of another grade, and in the second round, I worked with two high schoolers who I was not close to. In each team I was in, everyone had to work together to come up with a comprehensive understanding of the prompt and create a strong argument against the other team we were up against, in a limited amount of time. I had to step out of my comfort zone and sometimes initiate conversations to get the members working together. When we became moderately familiar with each other, we worked in a shared document to help each other research background information, create claims, and coordinate how we would present those claims. We also helped each other work real time to come up with rebuttals against the other team. Each member had their own strengths and weaknesses. For example, I was good at writing and researching, but was not a confident speaker. On the other hand, another member was a charismatic speaker but ran out of points to talk about. So, I supported them from the sidelines, finding information for them to talk about. As a result, our combined efforts made us win the whole event, which lasted for two rounds.




Comentários


Os comentários foram desativados.
bottom of page